Low Parks Museum
- Contact details / opening hours
- The Cameronians (Scottish Rifles)
- Weddings of distinction
- Venue Hire
Low Parks Museum is a 4-star Visit Scotland attraction situated within the Duke of Hamilton's former estate. Three historic buildings survive within the ducal estate: Portland House, built in 1696 for David Crawford, secretary to Duke and Duchess of Hamilton; Hamilton Palace Riding School, built in 1837 by Alexander, 10th Duke of Hamilton and one of Scotland's most fascinating buildings, the famous Hamilton Mausoleum, with its notable echo. The Route 74 heritage walk which begins at the museum, passes this iconic monument before continuing along the Rivers Clyde and Avon to Chatelherault Country Park in the High Parks.
Our family-friendly museum traces South Lanarkshire’s history: early settlements: Hamilton Palace and the Royal Burghs; design, industry and technology, agriculture and working the land. The Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) Gallery reflects over 300 years of this unique regiment's story, from its Covenanting roots to disbandment in 1968 and beyond. Our elegant 18th Century Assembly room, with its original plasterwork and musicians’ gallery forms a striking centrepiece to the complex of buildings which make up the museum. With two large temporary galleries, housing a programme of changing exhibitions, we aim to ensure there is always something new to see. Round off your visit with a trip to the Mezzanine café for a light snack, a bowl of home-made soup or a tasty treat in relaxed, airy surroundings.
Contact Low Parks Museum for further information.
Find us on Facebook.